CME - Dept. of Pathology - Update in Quality Assurance in Laboratory Medicine


            Laboratory medicine is clinical science and discipline devoted to the quantitative measurement and qualitative assessment of components in any type of biological fluids.

            The CME on “Update in Quality Assurance in Laboratory Medicine” started with a lecture by our Chief Speaker Dr. C.N. Srinivas who spoke on good clinical lab practices.

            He also spoke on “Quality Management System” followed by important elements of information management, common problems in effective reporting, sample handling management, maintenance of lab hand books in every lab section and the connected clinical department.

            Mr. Mohana Krishnan spoke on “Document control, Information management, and Sample management”.

            Mr. Vijay Kumar spoke on “Good clinical practice and recent changes in semen analysis reporting.

            CME was inaugurated by lightening of the lamp by the dean Dr. S.P. Rao, Narayana Medical College & Hospital, followed by his message and messages by Dr. C.N. Srinivas and Chairperson Dr. K. Durga. The Organizing Secretary Dr. Sunanda Lakshmi gave a brief report about the CME. There were 185 registrations with physical presence of 68 delegates and another 58 delegates online. The delegates were predominantly technical staff working in various labs, quality control managers and postgraduates in Pathology from other institutes. We had registration from as far as Riyadh, and Germany who actively participated in the CME online.

            Interaction of audience with speaker included answering questions and clarifying doubts. The chat box was also full with questions by online delegates and explanations were given by the speaker.

            Semen analysis, automation of fluid and urine samples, was the major attraction of the post lunch session followed by the major changes made in the ISO 15189:2022 document.

            The day ended with case scenarios discussion by Dr. Srinivas with enthusiastic participation by delegates.

            Dr. C.N. Srinivas was honoured with a shawl and momento for all his contribution to the CME.

Vote of thanks was delivered by Dr. M. Vijayalakshmi.